How do I delete chat conversations?

Chat delete permanently removes your chat from either your inbox or archived folder.

Deleting a chat is permanent and once deleted, they cannot be retrieved until a new message is received from the other Carouseller. If the chat has been deleted by both users, the chat will no longer be retrievable - so think twice before you delete a chat!

We encourage you to archive chats first and only delete a chat when you are 100% certain that you don't need it anymore, and when you're certain you will not be dealing with the Carouseller again in future. Here's how you delete chats

Mobile app

iOS

To delete a chat from inbox view, swipe left on the chat you would like to delete from your inbox and select “Delete”.

To delete a chat from chat view, select the “more” icon at the top right hand corner of the chat and then “Delete Chat”.

Android

To delete a chat from inbox view, tap and hold on the chat you would like to delete and a bin icon should appear on the top bar for you to tap on.

To delete a chat from chat view, select the “more” icon at the top right hand corner of the chat and then “Delete Chat”.

Carousell Web*

To delete a chat from inbox view, check the leftmost box and a “Delete” option should appear at the top.

To delete a chat from chat view, select on the dropdown arrow next to "Archive" at top of the chat and it should reveal an option for you to "Delete".

The chat is now deleted and should not reappear unless you receive a new message from that chat.

Can I restore deleted chats to my inbox?

A deleted chat cannot be reinstated unless the Carouseller you're chatting with on the same listing drops you a new chat message. If the chat has been deleted by both users, the chat will no longer be retrievable.

We're really sorry but we encourage all our Carousellers to keep a record of their transactions in Chats and therefore, we advise archiving chats first and only delete a chat when you are 100% certain that you don't need it anymore! 

However, if you're buying an item and you've accidentally deleted your chat with the seller, to reinstate your previous chat conversation, simply go to the listing in which your chat was on and hit "Chat"!

 

*Some icon arrangements may differ on mobile browser view

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 5 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.